top of page

6 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Started Running


Tales of a Running Rookie: 6 things ever beginner runner should know

I started dabbling with the idea of running when I was in my freshman year in college. But my many attempts were few and far between. I always found an excuse —I was tired, I had a big assignment, it’s hot, cold, you name it I had it!

When I’d actually run — just about a mile I’d feel my heart-pounding and my ears playing drums so hard I was convinced it would explode and splatter all over the track!

What more, post-run soreness. Ouch! That certainly was no encouragement. So, I’d make up yet another excuse for myself, “OK, running isn’t for me. Let’s do something else.” And quit.

After I graduated, I moved back home and decided I needed to give running another try.

Reading articles like Is Running the Best Exercise to Lose Weight? and 30 Convincing Reasons to Start Running Now, I felt running ticked all my boxes. And so, I started running.

These are 6 things I wish I knew before lacing those sneakers as a running rookie.

Invest Good Gear

If you’re anything like me, when I start something, the minimalist in me refuses to invest until it becomes a habit. However, with running this is crucial. A bad pair of shoes or horrid sports bra will not only ruin running for you but could cause you a lot of pain.

Let’s start with shoes; you need a cushioned pair that softens your landing as you take each stride. It’s important as good cushioning protects your knees and as well as the perfect fit keeps those blisters at bay.

At first, I threw on some old beat up pair of sneakers. But within a mile, I realized OUCH! My feet wore sore and got blisters on my pinky toes! I also felt a nagging pull on my right knee.

Instead of giving up this time, I knew to motivate myself to stick; I had better get better kicks and put comfort first. While I still went for a good deal, I got a well-known brand that had great reviews — New Balance.

Once it became routine and enough of a habit for me, it was time to trade up. Of course between then I also ran my first 5 km race, but that's a story for another day! :)

At the race though, I learned about the Brooks brand. When I popped by the store, the team ran a quick Foot Analysis/ Mapping to determine the perfect shoe for me. Turns out, my feet tend to roll inward as I run. Thus, I needed a neutral pair of shoes.

And that's how Brooks Ghost and Brooks Glycerin became my go-to running shoes. I get the right support and cushion for me, so my knees are well protected and I'm blister free.

Ghost 9 ready to go!

Next, ladies invest in a sports bra. If you’re not interested in investing in other athletic apparels and accessories, trust me, a sports bra is not something you can let cheap-out on.

I’m a little heavy on top, and a little bounce can be painful. Thus, looking for my perfect fit was trial and error. I didn’t slack here. I got a pair of high-support Adidas, but alas they since retired that design.

So I had to start my hunt all over again. Until I finally discovered my ever-reliable Brooks Juno sports bra. There are tons of options out there, you're only going to find your prefect fit after trying a few.

When it comes to clothes, I’m not much of a fashionista. So, skipping out pricey fashion apparel was easy for me. But go with stuff that will motivate you. If something chic does the trick, get it.

Whatever you decide to go with, I recommend — cotton. Not only is it affordable, breathable and cool, it soaks up everything like a sponge! When I first started, I just threw on old cotton tees I had laying in my closet. Like I said, I just didn't want to invest until I graduated to a habitual runner.

What’s your gear of choice?

 

"If you run, you are a runner. It doesn't matter how fast or how far. It doesn't matter if today is your first day or if you've been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.” ~ John Bingham

 

Start Slow and Steady

You don’t go from 0 to hero. Cliché, yes, but trust me a lot of us tend to feel like the king of the road when we throw on our running gear. So instead of a slow, steady build up, we get excited and dash like we’re chasing tomorrow.

If you are anything like me and never ran before, I recommend ― commit to a run a week and always start with a warm-up. That can be something as easy as jumping jacks, jogging on the spot, anything really to warm your muscles before your run.

Day 1, start with 5-minute jog followed by a 10-minute walk.

Day 2, if you feel good and strong, 7-minute jog, 10-minute walk. Slow and steady you work your way up.

By Day 5, which is your kick off to month 2, go with a 5-minute jog, 2-minute sprint, 5-minute walk with another 2-minute sprint. And finally, as a cool down and to lower your heart rate wrap-up with a 3-minute walk.

Every runner has a different formula, but this was what worked for me. What was your start-up regime?

Always start your run slow and steady.

Track

Like everything, when you can track it you know when you’ve worked it!

There are tons of apps out there, but I like RunKeeper. Maybe I'm biased as it was the first app I started with, but I like the many improvements it has incorporated. Oh, and you don’t have to spend a dime as the free version is perfectly sufficient.

Do you have a running app of choice?

Stretch After

Now, this is a tricky one. Never take this for granted. I learned this the hard way.

I know there is articles and research out there that argue that there’s no evidence to correlate stretching and injury prevention. Soreness is often linked to incorrect running techniques.

In my case, I experienced the most excoriating lower back pull that limited my movement. Sharp pain pinching my nerve as a result of the lack of stretching. I too thought it was my running technique, but after further conversations with my doc turns out it was indeed my lack of stretching.

Stretching helps flexibility. It helps tightness, and in my case, the lack of stretching on my lower back was a big no-no.

I learned that as you run your lower back absorbs a lot of impact and holds up your body weight. So, when you keep at it especially in long distance, it gets tight. Like a rubber band, you should stretch it out to avoid it snapping aka injury.

That said, be careful that you don’t overstretch. Yup, that’s possible too.

Breathe and Slow Down

Now, this sounds like a silly reminder. It’s not. Remember how I mentioned about the pounding heart and ears? Well turns out I was training too hard. All I needed to do was walk and breathe.

Sometimes when you get too focused and train too hard, the tendency to take fast shallow breaths increases. Instead, slow down, walk let your heart rate drop and take deep breaths. Feel yourself oxygenate. Trust me it is a liberating feeling.

Start Early

This is simply my personal favorite. Everyone has a different preference here. I like to start my run before sunrise. Yup, I’m a morning person.

I feel the air is thinner before sunrise, so it is easier to inhale and exhale. The best part of it all ― the sunrise as I’m about to wrap up my run.

The other great thing about morning runs, the same energy you put in your run transcends throughout the day. And nothing feels better than that! Imagine you start strong and end strong.

Of cos there's always watching sunset which can be just as relaxing. I just prefer mornings.

Are you a morning runner like me? If not, what’s your favorite time to run?

Your turn: Do you have a running story to share? Share your story.

Hashtag #SaltPepperandEverythingBetween when you share on your social networks!

 

This article is not a substitute for medical advice. Always check with your doctor before starting a new fitness routine.

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page