top of page

A Simple Heart Rate Training Guide


Let’s start by stating the obvious. Heart rate monitoring is annoying.

I don’t know about you, but when I track I feel that I’m forced to slow down because my FitBit says “Peak”.

Imagine the annoyance I feel when Shaun T is screaming “Let’s Go!” in Insanity, but my monitor says otherwise.

Everytime I comply to my heart rate monitor's demands, I feel like I’m slacking.

I used to set goals in a different manner for myself.

For my runs, I focused on pace, and for Insanity Max 30, how long till I’d Max Out.

Since digging deeper into heart rate training, I’ve learned there was a problem with those goals — I was overdoing it, without even knowing!

For instance, after a long run, that I thought I paced well, I’d experience a nagging pain in my hip flexors.

Something wasn’t right. But, I shrugged it off and assumed I was training my body to get used to the movement.

In time, my body will get conditioned to the movement and will eventually stop hurting. And so I pushed on.

Little did I know I was risking injury.

There were also the days where I’d rather sit on the couch.

But to get over my guilt, I’d throw in the simplest 30-minute workout and breeze through as quickly as possible.

The downside? Rather than upping my game and focusing on improving my performance, I was merely putting in my day’s work.

I wasn't thinking on improving my form or doing better. Rather I was trying to get it over and done and yet was hoping for results.

By now you’re probably getting confused.

She says when it’s hard, it’s maybe too hard and when it’s easy, it’s too easy.

To put things into perspective.

Heart rate monitoring is smart training is:improved performance + recovery = greater results.

So now that’s out of the way. Let’s look at how you can create a simple heart rate training program.

Nail every workout with target heart zones

Nail Every Workout with Target Heart Zones

Instead of reinventing the wheel, I’ve reworked this running guide by Jason Fitzgerald that features 3 perfect workouts for heart rate monitors.

Using Jason’s plan, I’ve mapped out a plan to keep my heart rate in check in all my workouts.

Warm up and find your base, start small and build your heart rate.

Find Your Base

I consider this my warm-ups. Slow and easy, jog in place, jumping jacks, arm swings, toe taps...anything to get yourself moving and warm up the muscles.

As Jillian Michael’s in No More Trouble Zones says — "your warm-ups should focus on dynamic stretching."

From my resting rate (about 55 beats per minute [bpm]) I try to move into my Fat Burn Zone (50 to 69 percent of your maximum heart rate [MHR]).

This is simple, easy and light enough that you should be able have a conversation while still working hard enough to feel your heart rate increase.

Build up intensity and move into the Cardio Zone (70 to 84 percent of your MHR).

Endurance Intervals​

Now, this is where you build intensity and move into your Cardio Zone (70 to 84 percent of your MHR).

This is a good zone to be as you’re pushing yourself hard enough to get the most from your workout.

Your heart is still able to pump enough oxygen throughout your body efficiently.

As you get fitter, you will notice that you’re able to stay within this range longer before reaching your Peak Zone.

Yoga or Pilates help heal the body after rigorous workouts

Recovery

I consider this the slow down phase of the workout. I had to train my brain to understand that I’m not slacking off and simply maximizing my efforts.

Your goal is to let your heart rate fall gradually to be within Fat Burn Zone. No overexerting. No trying to do more.

During my workout I take a pause. I walk and let my heart rate gradually slow down.

My weekly workout schedule includes two or the very least on Yoga or Pilates session. I slot it between my vigorous workouts during the week to allow myself to heal and recover.

These fluid movements is exactly what Denise Austin describes as “active recovery.”

 

“Not only are you allowing your body (heart, muscles, connective tissue) to recover, but also your brain. Most of us only think about the physical side of recovery, but the brain needs time to rest as well. Easy runs keep your motivation high and your enthusiasm refreshed for training hard on the days that matter.” ~ Jason Fitzgerald

 

As you explore this guide, try to customize it to your goals. I can't say it enough, everyone is different. So find what works for you.

Your turn: Do you have a heart training plan of your own? Please feel free to share! Hashtag #SaltPepperandEverythingBetween when you share on your social networks!

 

This article is not a substitute for medical or professional physical training advice. Always check with your doctor or physician before starting a new fitness routine.

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page