top of page

DIY: How to Make Bone Broth


I know I’ve been behind with my posts – you know how it can get that thing called LIFE. Juggling a million things at once. So, while I’ve been very much keeping my healthy lifestyle intact, sitting down and writing has been tougher. My apologies.

A few weeks back I shared my new diet tweak– bone broth. Yes, some will call it a fad, but when I went home to Malaysia 2 years ago, my mom was brewing this magic potion, and I gave it a try. I must admit it really like MEGALY boosted my energy. I kid you not! If you know me at all, that’s usually enough to get me excited. It didn’t just do that; I also feel it’s made my hair thicker, shinier and my nails stronger.

Well, I can rave about how great I feel, I even broke down the basics of bone broth, but you can ignore me and hey listen to the people who probably have better street credit than I do: Halle Berry and Kobe Bryant. 😊

As promised, here’s my easy to brew recipe. It’s very customizable, and you can even substitute the chicken for beef or lamb. The best part, it’s made from scrap you throw away. Sounds bad but read on!

Utensils You Need:

  • A slow cooker or if you like a large pot. I recommend a 10-quart slow cooker because you can walk away

  • Strainer

  • Storage containers – I use mason jars as they are easy to store, drink

Prep time 5 minutes

Cook Time 12-48 hours

Total Time Varies

Servings 6 pints

Ingredients

  • 1-pound grass-fed, organic chicken carcass― necks/feet/wings

  • 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar

  • 2-3 carrots, chopped―no peeling needed

  • 3 celery stalks, chopped

  • ½ medium onion, peel on, sliced in half lengthwise

  • 3 stalks of lemongrass

  • 5-7 fresh basil leaves

  • 3 sprigs fresh rosemary

  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

  • 1 tsp of oregano

  • Water

Directions

Place the bones into the pot, add the apple cider vinegar and soak the bones for 30-minutes. I recommend mixing vinegar on everything as the acid helps draw out the bones’ nutrients. Toss in all the other herbs and spices. Pour about a 2.5 gallon of water.

Turn the lever to low and leave it overnight (I tend to let it sit for between 15-24 hours as I’m not that patient. But you can let it sit up to 48 hours).

Switch it off, let the broth cool for about 2 hours. It’s then time to separate the liquids from the solids. Strain out all the bone and vegetable scraps.

When your mix is cool enough, place your broth in your container of choice. I recommend letting it cool more before finally storing your weeks’ worth of broth in your fridge.

An interesting thing to note is that when your broth is cold, you’ll notice a thick gooey, wiggly layer. Do not even think of throwing it out! That’s the collagen that’s good for you 😊 If you’re all about taste, you can add some Himalayan salt to taste. I don’t as I feel I get enough salt in my diet.

Your turn: Do you already make bone broth? Will you try it now? Share your recipe, tips or questions.

Hashtag #SaltPepperandEverythingBetween when you share on your social networks!

 

This article is not a substitute for medical advice. You should not use this information to diagnose or treat your health condition. Always check with your doctor before altering your diet or taking supplements.

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page