top of page

What’s for Breakfast? 3 Healthy Breakfast Oatmeal Recipes


A friend trying to manage her weight recently asked me a question — what should I do for breakfast?

So, I figured this is a great time to share my 3 breakfast go-to’s that jumpstart my day.

Let me get this out of the way first — I’m an oats person. At 24-years-old I was told I had high cholesterol and I had to manage it to avoid paying the price down the road.

I’m also a naturalist. Meaning I seek ways to heal myself by consuming natural ingredients, what is known as functional food.

While medicine is not always avoidable, I try my best to minimize pill-popping or steer clear from using products that serve as substitute nutrition. Everyone's different. This is just my preference and my personal approach.

In the case of my cholesterol, I learned that the soluble fibers in oatmeal are critical to lowering to low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol.

The fiber becomes a sticky-gooey substance as your small intestines digest it. The LDL cholesterol sticks to the substance; thus, gets blocked out from your bloodstream and flushed out as waste.

There are of course other food groups that do the same Check out my blog post on the little soldiers that I use to keep my cholesterol at a healthy level.

To avoid getting bored here are 3 simple oatmeal recipes you can rotate to jumpstart your day!

Cinnamon Chia Seed Oatmeal

Cinnamon Chia Seed Oatmeal

This is my favorite quick out-the-door go-to breakfast recipe. Besides the oats, chia seeds are also an excellent source of fiber and contain omega-3 essential fatty acids, calcium, phosphorus and manganese. One key benefit of cinnamon, on the other hand, is it helps regulate your blood-sugar.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of rolled oats

  • ½ cup of unsweetened coconut milk (or milk of your choice)

  • ½ cup of filtered water

  • ½ tsp of chia seeds soak overnight in filtered water

Directions

In a small saucepan heat the oats, water and coconut milk over medium heat.

Continuously stir the mix, as it becomes a thick paste. It shouldn’t take more than 2-3 minutes.

Transfer to bowl. Drain water from plumped chia seeds and sprinkle it along with the cinnamon over the oats.

Banana-Nut Cinnamon Oatmeal

Banana-Nut Cinnamon Oatmeal

If you’re someone with a sweet tooth (I am sometimes), this is a simple also a quick recipe to get your mornings going.

This recipe is so good because not only does the added fiber from banana, keeps you full longer; you also boost your brain health as walnuts are rich with neuroprotective compounds such vitamin E, folate, melatonin, omega-3 fats, and antioxidants.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of rolled oats

  • ½ cup of unsweetened coconut milk (or milk of your choice)

  • ½ cup of filtered water

  • 1 sliced banana

  • ¼ cup of chopped walnuts

  • a sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions

Same as the first recipe in a small saucepan heat the oats, water and coconut milk over medium heat.

Transfer to mix into a bowl and top it with banana slices, walnuts, and cinnamon.

Overnight Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Overnight Peanut Butter Oatmeal

I saw a recipe in one of the Instagram health folks I follow (I can’t recall which one as this was ages ago), but I’ve tweaked the recipe to my taste.

I love peanut butter as it’s creamy rich yet it’s filled with protein. Can’t complain, right? Just be careful when you get it at the store.

Always read the ingredient list to ensure you’re not getting an overload of sugar or sodium and pay attention to the oil type. Here’s a good site check out as you shop for peanut butter.

Unlike the other two recipes, overnight oats as its name are made the night before and served cold. So technically while it takes longer to prepare,you can dive in almost immediately 😉

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of rolled oats

  • ½ cup of unsweetened coconut milk (or milk of your choice)

  • 1 tsp of peanut butter (my peanut butter of choice is Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter Creamy)

  • ½ tsp of chia seeds

  • ¼ tsp of cinnamon

Directions

In a small bowl (you can use a mason jar I just prefer bowl), add the oats peanut butter and coconut milk. Stir to ensure the milk moistens the oats and make sure the peanut butter is smoothly mixed in and not lumpy. Add the chia seeds and cinnamon.

Cover securely with a lid or plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. Pop, it out the fridge in the morning and enjoy. I sometimes add some fruit for kicks.

Here's a great video that shows you how to make overnight oats. You get the real visual here 😊

Your turn: With so many healthy breakfast options, what’s your favorite breakfast go-to?

Hashtag #SaltPepperandEverythingBetween when you share on your social networks!

 

This article is not a substitute for medical advice. You should not use this information to diagnose or treat your health condition. Always check with your doctor before altering your diet or taking supplements.

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page