top of page

Setting A Purpose


If you know me as at 15, you’d know I absolutely hated running.

I remember we had to complete 1.5 km (that's less than a mile!) within 10 mins for Physical Education (P.E).

Let’s just say I couldn’t even go half-way! Not only did I get winded I just hated running, period.

Who knew 10-years into the future, I’d run my first half a marathon without even training and by choice too!

From hating running to can’t live without it. What changed?

Simple: I started training with a purpose.

I approach all my workouts this way. “What am I trying to achieve today?”

Sometimes it’s about form while other times it’s distance or time. I always try to have a goal in mind and work toward it.

Sometimes I miss it my goal, other times I crush it.

By having a goal, I can visualize and crystalize things and execute things with a purpose. Know where my gaps are and work on them.

 

There is an underlying purpose and meaning behind my training, always. It isn’t about the next race or the next workout. It’s about fitness and fortitude for the next test around the corner that I cannot see.” –Kristin Armstrong

 

If you read running blogs, you’ve probably come across that having a goal whatever it maybe helps you run further.

I just wanted to take some time to share 3 tips that work for me. It might just also work for you. The only way of knowing is to give it a try! 😊

Start a journal to set a purpose

Start a Journal

I know it sounds tedious and annoying. But trust me writing or recording these things not only helps you get started, seeing a physical something you can hold, gives you accountability.

It enables you to understand gaps and areas for improvement, and you can also chronicle your journey. Recognize places to get bettet and celebrate how far you’ve come.

Awaken your senses

Awaken Your Senses

Run mindfully. Listen to your breath, your heartbeat. Feel each stride. I like to count my breaths, as it helps me feel steady and firm.

Being conscious of each breath helps me awaken my senses: I smell the fresh air, hear the trees rumble, feel my heartbeat and see the path ahead.

Running is about being present for you. When you're in the zone, you're focused. No multi-tasking. This is your time. Have this same approach to all your training and trust me you will see results.

Have fun running

Have Fun!

Yup, this is actually a purpose. I train to have fun. Most people run with music, which is a great way to get moving. I don’t, but that certainly doesn’t mean I don’t have fun!

I am usually cheering myself through a goal. I giggle as I type this as I realize how goofy I may appear. I tend to pat my head and tell myself “You can do it, Radhika!” as I run.

You make a commitment you hold yourself accountable, and train with a purpose to meet that one goal.

As you complete one goal, you will push yourself to achieve another and another. And so, running becomes more fun, and I use it to clear my mind.

Your turn: Everyone is different. What’s your purpose? Hashtag #SaltPepperandEverythingBetween when you share on your social networks!

 

This article is not a substitute for medical or professional physical training advice. Always check with your doctor or physician before starting a new fitness routine.

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page